Do you know we belong together?

Image0003_crop1

JJ Heller puts it perfectly in her song The Boat Song;

If you were a boat, my darling
A boat, my darling
I’d be the wind at your back

If you were afraid, my darling
Afraid, my darling
I’d be the courage you lack

If you were a bird, then I’d be a tree
And you would come home, my darling, to me

If you were asleep, then I’d be a dream
Wherever you are, that’s where my heart will be

Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?

If you were the ocean, I’d be the sand
If you were a song, I’d be the band

If you were the stars, then I’d be the moon
A light in the dark, my darling, for you

Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?

Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?
Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?

After two miscarriages my husband and I decided to open our home to children and become foster parents. We wanted kids in our lives and this was the next step God called us to take.

We got the bedroom all set up with a twin bed and a crib (you never know what age to expect!) and it was decorated in yellow and blue (you never know what gender either!).  Buying the crib wasn’t easy. Every time I tried to pick out a crib for the room, I’d leave with tears in my eyes.  I felt like a fraud in my un- pregnant state and broken body standing there in the store isle. I finally told my husband to pick out a crib… as long as it was white. One day I walked in the door of our home  after work and walked past the spare bedroom and there it was. A crib. In my house.  And yes, I cried. (Even now it makes me cry!)

Not too long after my husband called me at work and told me we were getting a baby girl. How many husbands have the fun of  telling their wives they are going to be a mother? (And I cried again.)  That baby girl slept in that crib and later that bed. She still sleeps in that bed long after her adoption was finalized and legally became ours… because we belong together.

2 thoughts on “Do you know we belong together?

Leave a Reply

