Together Forever

DSC09267

When I’m out with our 2 year olds, the inevitable conversation is;

“Are they twins?”

“No” I say.

Then…”How old are they?”

“Two years old”

“Are they both yours?”

“Yes.”

“But they aren’t twins.”

“No, they are a week a part.”

“How does that work?”

“One is biological and one was adopted”.

“Oooohhhh…”

Now sometimes I get asked the first three questions and then I just keep walking… snickering to myself. The confused look on some peoples faces are priceless!

Other times when asked I just say “Almost!” and keep walking….

So far, only one person has caught on after I say that they aren’t twins both are both mine that one was adopted.  I was actually impressed. I guess it’s a hard thing to grasp.

It’s been a fun experience. Having almost twins has made us baby-proof our house to extreme measures, half our furniture and nick-knacks are now in the garage…half their toys too!  They teach each other things! Climbing out of the crib at 16 months made me almost cry since I was pregnant. I had planned for them to stay contained till they were 3 at least!

When I was in the hospital with our littlest one, my sister texted me that they figured out how to climb over the yard fence. They were 21 months old! Last week they just decided it was easier to just unlatch the fence and run across the street and down the ally to the house with the swing-set.  Carabiner  clips now lock the latches. Guess what my husband is doing now? Installing boards on the fence and taking out the wire fencing. Maybe at least that will slow them down!

7 thoughts on “Together Forever

  1. This made me laugh! I’ve got a 16 month old, and I can’t imagine the trouble she’d get into if she had a sister her age… My hat’s off to you and your husband. 🙂

  2. i have a friend who has three children. Two of them arrived prematurely. She has a boy, she delivered after 30 weeks. Six weeks later she was pregnant ( we wont even go there!), then at 27 weeks had her second, a girl. They are always referred to as “irish twins”.

Leave a Reply

